DSA/LAA Awards

A recipient of the Distinguished Service Award shall meet the following qualifications:

A.  Shall be a member of WCRA in good standing; B.  Shall be a working reporter; C.  Shall not be an Officer or Director of WCRA; D.  Shall have been involved in WCRA affairs on an extensive level, during which involvement the candidates shall have rendered distinguished service to this association, which has contributed to its good reputation, general welfare or worthy accomplishments. 

The Committee may consider, among other things, services rendered to State and other reporting associations, public affairs and public relations, writing for association publications and the advancement of the concept of the superior merits of machine shorthand reporting as opposed to other methods.

Nominations of candidates may be submitted only by voting members of WCRA.  Supporting endorsements may be made by other than the above to support the nomination.  The Committee shall not be limited to the names submitted in any one year, but may consider candidates whose names were submitted during the previous two years.

Your DSA nomination should contain the following information: 

1.   Your name and address; 2.  Name and address of the nominee; 3.  Number of years the nominee has been reporting; 4.  Number of years the nominee has been a WCRA member; 5.  List the individual's creative contributions to the welfare of the profession of court reporting; 6.  List any of the individual's significant and distinguished service to the profession as an active participant on boards or committees of any national or state association of court reporters; 7.  List any of the individual's contributions to the profession in such areas as teaching, editing or publications or other contributions as have served to advance the progress of the profession of court reporting.


Lindsay DeWaide at president.wcra@gmail.com.

The recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award shall meet the same criteria but must be a Retired Member.

WCRA Awards

A special thanks to those reporters who have gone above and beyond, given more than was asked of them, and created a better profession for all of us.

Lifetime Achievement Awards 

No award 2001

No award 2002

Coley Griffin     2003

Wesley Gales     2004

Joan Granger     2005

William Shimeta     2006

No award     2007

No award     2008

Jack Erkilla     2009

No award     2010

No award     2011

Karlye Canfield     2012

Doris Pfeiffer     2013  
Roberta Bitler     2014

Colleen Reed     2015

Richard Kienbaum     2016

Laurie Ahlin     2017

Kelly Powers     2018

Distinguished Service Awards

Kristine Krigsvold     2001

Colleen Reed     2002

Ed Johnson     2003

No award     2004

Diane Scott     2005

Geri O'Brien     2006

Gwenn Bever     2007

No award     2008

Judy DeRuyter     2009

Jane Jones     2010

No Award     2011

Taunia Northouse     2012

Ann Albert     2013

Mary Burzynski     2014

Christine Willette     2015

Kelly Powers     2016

Kathy Jagow     2017

Lori Baldauf   2018

If you would like to nominate someone for either of these awards, please contact the President of WCRA.

If you have any comments, concerns, or questions about our association, or you would like additional information about court reporting as a profession, please contact us at president.wcra@gmail.com.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software